#MySpace. How I setup to work. Part 2

With the benefits of the wide screen set out, lets talk about how I’m using it to its fullest potential.

I’m still in the process of working out the exact set up that I like best, but I’ve been playing around. The truth is that the best option depends on what I’m doing. If I’m doing something where there is minimal interaction with the application, they I am loving the set up below. Basically, maximise the IDE, and open up everything you could ever want. It’s great!!!

VBA IDE on Ultra Wide Screen.png

Sometimes, I’m working on something that requires interactions with the OS/File System, or host App, etc, in this case, I use a setup like the one I have mocked up below.

VBA IDE on Ultra Wide Screen With SplitScreenREV.png

As you can see in the above screenshot, the screens are spaced out in a sort of grid, and for this I use WinSplit Revolution (11.04). I spent some time setting up a few “templates” for possible windows configurations. I have not got it quite right, but I’m understanding the “workflow” around the screen a bit more, and have a few more ideas to try. Of course, each person will probably have a  different ideal layout.

BTW, I looked at at least 10, maybe more, screen layout utilities and I can honestly say that WinSplitRevolution is hands down the best – not to complex, not to limited. There are loads and loads out there, but if you want to save yourself the time and effort go for WinSplit. Its a bit of a pain to set the layouts up (i.e. defining the windows size and postion) but once thats done it the best to use by far.

Leave a Reply

